What will
the futures bring?

The Anthology

Science fiction inspired by today's new technologies

Inspired by the real-life breakthroughs covered in the pages of MIT Technology Review, renowned writers Brian W. Aldiss, David Brin, and Greg Egan join the hottest emerging authors from around the world to envision the future of the Internet, biotechnology, computing, and more.

This collection features 12 all-new stories, an exclusive interview with science fiction legend Neal Stephenson, and a full-color gallery of artwork by Science Fiction Hall of Famer Richard Powers.

Critical Acclaim

"Twelve Tomorrows would have to qualify

as one of the year’s best SF anthologies

to date, perhaps the best."

The Authors

All-new stories by twelve of today's visionaries

Brian W. Aldiss

David Brin

Greg Egan

Nancy Fulda

Kathleen Goonan

Nancy Kress

Paul McAuley

Ian McDonald

Justina Robson

Cheryl Rydbom

Allen M. Steele

Peter Watts

Brian W. Aldiss

"The Mighty Mi Tok of Beijing"

British author Brian W. Aldiss is a Grand Master of science fiction, with a publishing career that stretches back to the 1950s; his 1969 short story “Super Toys Last All Summer Long” was the basis for the movie A.I. He has won or been a finalist for every major award in literary science fiction multiple times.

David Brin

"Insistence of Vision"

With a background in physics and optics, including time spent at the Jet Propulsion Lab, San Diego–based David Brin has made a career of predicting the future with a blend of fiction and nonfiction work. His second book, Startide Rising, won the 1984 Nebula, Hugo, and Locus Awards, and he has won or been a finalist for many of these awards since.

Greg Egan

"Zero for Conduct"

Australian author Greg Egan’s first science fiction story was published in 1983. His stories often hinge on exploiting some element of physics. His novel Permutation City won the 1995 John W. Campbell Memorial Award, and in 1999 Oceanic won the Hugo and Locus Awards. Egan does not allow his photograph to be published online.

Nancy Fulda

"The Cyborg and the Cemetery"

Currently living in Germany, Nancy Fulda has a research background in computer science and has been publishing science fiction since 2006. She was a nominee in 2012 for a Hugo for her short story “Movement.”

Kathleen Ann Goonan


Tennessee-based Kathleen Ann Goonan debuted in 1994 with her novel Queen City Jazz, which firmly established the focus on the intersection between nanotechology and biotechnology that marks much of her work. Her alternate-history novel In War Times won the 2008 John W. Campbell Memorial Award.

Nancy Kress


Seattle-based Nancy Kress first started publishing in the 1970s, initially in the fantasy genre but then moving into science fiction. She has won four Nebula Awards (including the 2008 award for best novella for “Fountain of Age”) and two Hugo Awards (including the 2009 award for best novella for “The Erdman Nexus”). Her novel Probability Space won the 2003 John W. Campbell Award. Her work often focuses on the impact of technology on the lives of ordinary people.

Paul McAuley

"Transitional Forms"

London-based Paul McAuley is a botanist by training. His debut novel, Four Hundred Billion Stars, won the Philip K. Dick Award in 1998; his 1995 novel Fairyland won the Arthur C. Clarke and the John W. Campbell Memorial Awards.

Ian McDonald

"The Revolution Will Not Be Refridgerated"

Living in Belfast, Ian McDonald first came to prominence in 1988 with Desolation Road, a novel that married magic realism and science fiction. More recently, his work has focused on exploring the near future in developing nations: set in India, his 2004 River of Gods won a British Science Fiction Association Award.

Justina Robson


Hailing from Leeds, England, Justina Robson was a finalist for the 2000 Arthur C. Clarke Award and British Science Fiction Association Best Novel Award for her first novel, Silver Screen. A theme in her writing is the nature of mind, real and artificial.

Cheryl Rydbom

"In Sight"

Based in Huntsville, Alabama, Cheryl Rydbom is a missile defense software engineer who turned to fiction writing during a leave of absence to raise twins. She was first published in 2011 with her short story “The Jenny.”

Allen M. Steele

"Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun"

Currently living in Massachusetts, Allen M. Steele has been publishing science fiction since 1988. He won his first Hugo Award for his 1995 novella “The Death of Captain Future.” More recently, his 2010 novelette “The Emperor of Mars” won another Hugo. Steele is a member of the Board of Advisors for the Space Frontier Foundation.

Peter Watts


Jumping careers from marine biologist to author, Canadian Peter Watts published his first science fiction story in 1990 and his first novel, Starfish, in 1999. He is noted for his somewhat bleak story lines leavened with a dry wit. In 2010 Watts’s “The Island” won the 2010 Hugo Award for Best Novelette.

"I only collect two things in this world:

memories and [MIT Technology Review’s]

annual Science Fiction issue."

The Interview

A candid conversation with a science fiction legend

  • Writing Female Characters 2:46

  • Books and Gadgets 4:00

  • Predictions and Surprises 2:57

  • The Hieroglyph Project 5:59

  • On Optimism 3:57

  • The State of Science Fiction 2:52

"Last year's special volume was a huge hit,

containing some of the best SF stories…

and this edition carries on that tradition"

Order Now

Available for iPad, Kindle, nook, or as a limited edition printed volume


Coming Soon

Get notified when digital editions are available.