press release

MIT Technology Review Announces Its 2017 Innovators Under 35 List

Cambridge, MA – August 16, 2017:  Today, MIT Technology Review reveals its annual list of Innovators Under 35. For over a decade, the global media company has recognized a list of exceptionally talented technologists whose work has great potential to transform the world.

“Over the years, we’ve had success in recognizing young innovators whose work has been profoundly influential on the direction of technology that will change the way we work and live,” says editor David Rotman. “Past honorees include Larry Page and Sergey Brin, the cofounders of Google; Mark Zuckerberg, the cofounder of Facebook; and Jonathan Ive, the chief designer of Apple. We’re proud of our selections and the variety of achievements they celebrate.”

This year’s honorees will be featured online at starting today, and in the September/October print magazine, which hits newsstands worldwide on August 29. They will appear in person at the upcoming EmTech MIT conference November 6–9 in Cambridge, Massachusetts (

2017 Innovators Under 35


  • Tallis Gomes, EasyTaxi and Singu
  • Kathy Gong, Wafa Games
  • Rachel Haurwitz, Caribou Biosciences
  • Bill Liu, Royole Corporation
  • Jianxiong Xiao, AutoX


  • Eyad Janneh,
  • Suchi Saria, Johns Hopkins University
  • Katherine Taylor, Khethworks


  • Gene Berdichevsky, Sila Nanotechnologies
  • Radha Boya, University of Manchester
  • Ian Goodfellow, Google Brain
  • Svenja Hinderer, Fraunhofer IGB
  • Lorenz Meier, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology
  • Franziska Roesner, University of Washington
  • Olga Russakovsky, Princeton University
  • Michael Saliba, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzlerland
  • Gregory Wayne, DeepMind


  • Jessica Brillhart, Independent filmmaker
  • Joshua Browder, DoNotPay 
  • Phillipa Gill, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • Fabian Menges, IBM Research
  • Volodymyr Mnih, DeepMind
  • Austin Russell, Luminar
  • Angela Schoellig, University of Toronto
  • Jenna Wiens, University of Michigan
  • Hanqing Wu, Alibaba Cloud


  • Viktor Adalsteinsson, The Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard
  • Greg Brockman, OpenAI
  • Tracy Chou, Project Include
  • Abdigani Diriye, Innovate Ventures
  • Anca Dragan, UC Berkeley
  • Neha Narkhede, Confluent
  • Adrienne Porter Felt, Google
  • Amanda Randles, Duke University
  • Gang Wang, Alibaba’s A.I. Labs

More Press Releases