Skip to Content
77 Mass Ave

Double Nobel

Economists Duflo and Banerjee have pioneered a new approach to antipoverty research.
December 27, 2019
Photograph of Esther Duflo, PhD and Abhijit Banerjee
Photograph of Esther Duflo, PhD and Abhijit Banerjee
Photograph of Esther Duflo, PhD and Abhijit BanerjeeBRYCE VICKMARK

Esther Duflo, PhD ’99, and Abhijit Banerjee, MIT economists whose work has helped transform antipoverty research and relief efforts, received the 2019 Nobel Prize in economics along with Harvard University economist Michael Kremer, a former MIT postdoc and faculty member who was at the Institute from 1992 to 1999. 

The economists have done innovative work in development economics, emphasizing the use of field experiments to realize the benefits of laboratory-style randomized, controlled trials. Duflo and Banerjee have applied this new precision to study a wide range of topics implicated in global poverty, including health care, education, agriculture, and gender issues, and developed new antipoverty programs based on their research. In one widely noted experiment, they found that immunization rates for children in rural India jump dramatically when their families are offered modest incentives such as a couple of pounds of free lentils. Other studies have involved fertilizer use by Kenyan farmers, physician training in India, HIV prevention in Africa, the effects of small-scale lending programs, and the impact of aid programs in Indonesia.

Duflo and Banerjee also cofounded MIT’s Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab in 2003, along with a third cofounder, Sendhil Mullainathan, now of the University of Chicago. J-PAL, a global network of antipoverty researchers that conducts field experiments, facilitates such work across the world and works with governments and NGOs to implement the interventions with the greatest impact. Among J-PAL’s notable innovations are deworming programs that have been adopted widely.

“By providing an experimental basis for development economics, professors Banerjee and Duflo have reimagined their field and profoundly changed how governments and agencies around the world intervene to help people beat poverty,” President L. Rafael Reif said at a press conference. “In doing so, they provide a proud reminder of MIT’s commitment to bringing knowledge to bear on the world’s great challenges.”

Melissa Nobles, the Kenan Sahin Dean of MIT’s School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences, added: “The significance of Abhijit’s and Esther’s scholarship is not only that it has transformed the ways in which economists and policymakers think about and approach poverty alleviation, but that, at the core, their research is guided by deeply humanistic values. In their vision, the materially poor are at the center, as are remedies for global poverty that actually work, that open doors for millions to education, health care, economic well-being, and safe communities—to the full promise of human life.”

Duflo, 46, is the second woman and the youngest person ever to receive the Nobel in economic sciences; among other honors, she also won a MacArthur “genius” grant in 2009. She and Banerjee, who are married, are the sixth and seventh people to win the award as MIT faculty members, following Paul Samuelson (1970), Franco Modigliani (1985), Robert Solow (1987—see “The productive career of Robert Solow,” page 10), Peter Diamond (2010), and Bengt Holmström (2016). Twelve alumni (including Duflo) and eight former faculty members have won the award.

Keep Reading

Most Popular

transplant surgery
transplant surgery

The gene-edited pig heart given to a dying patient was infected with a pig virus

The first transplant of a genetically-modified pig heart into a human may have ended prematurely because of a well-known—and avoidable—risk.

open sourcing language models concept
open sourcing language models concept

Meta has built a massive new language AI—and it’s giving it away for free

Facebook’s parent company is inviting researchers to pore over and pick apart the flaws in its version of GPT-3

Muhammad bin Salman funds anti-aging research
Muhammad bin Salman funds anti-aging research

Saudi Arabia plans to spend $1 billion a year discovering treatments to slow aging

The oil kingdom fears that its population is aging at an accelerated rate and hopes to test drugs to reverse the problem. First up might be the diabetes drug metformin.

images created by Google Imagen
images created by Google Imagen

The dark secret behind those cute AI-generated animal images

Google Brain has revealed its own image-making AI, called Imagen. But don't expect to see anything that isn't wholesome.

Stay connected

Illustration by Rose WongIllustration by Rose Wong

Get the latest updates from
MIT Technology Review

Discover special offers, top stories, upcoming events, and more.

Thank you for submitting your email!

Explore more newsletters

It looks like something went wrong.

We’re having trouble saving your preferences. Try refreshing this page and updating them one more time. If you continue to get this message, reach out to us at with a list of newsletters you’d like to receive.